Civil Air Patrol Volunteer Now

    Okla. Wing's Keller, Va. Wing's Litchford honored as top Sr. Member, Cadet

    August 27, 2012

    Col. Virginia P. Keller and Capt. Dominique Litchford, CAP's Senior Member and Cadet of the Year, respectively.


    MARYLAND – The Oklahoma Wing’s vice commander, Col. Virginia P. Keller, was honored Saturday at Civil Air Patrol’s Annual Conference & National Board as the organization’s Senior Member of the Year, and Capt. Dominique Litchford of the Virginia Wing’s Roanoke Composite Squadron was recognized as Cadet of the Year.

    Keller and Litchford head the list of CAP members presented with national recognition awards for service to the organization  with exceptional commitment and effectiveness.

    Keller, who joined CAP as an aerospace education member in 1985, has served as commander of the Stillwater Composite Squadron and, at the wing level, as assistant finance officer, public affairs officer and acting commander.

    Litchford, who recently advanced from cadet colonel to senior member status, has been a CAP member since May 2003. A year ago she joined her sister, Capt. Katrina Litchford of the Roanoke squadron, as a recipient of the Gen. Carl A. Spaatz Award – presented to less than one-half of 1 percent of all cadets.

    Here is a list of those recognized during the awards recognition ceremony and the banquet Saturday night:

    Other Nominees for Senior Member of the Year

    Lt. Col. Justin M. Carisio Jr.
    Delaware Wing
    Col. Joe E. Casler
    Director of Emergency Services
    Iowa Wing
    Lt. Col. Harold A. Coghlan
    Director of Safety
    Alabama Wing
    Maj. Richard A. Crepas
    Director of Emergency Services
    Michigan Wing

    Lt. Col. Randal A. Leval
    Maui Composite Squadron
    Hawaii Wing
    Col. William R. Morton Jr.
    Government Relations Adviser
    Wyoming Wing
    Maj. Jack L. Shapiro

    Emergency Services Training Officer
    Connecticut Wing

    Other Nominees for Cadet of the Year

    Cadet Col. Nathaniel L. Chaverin
    Heartland Cadet Squadron
    Kansas Wing
    Cadet Col. Joshua T. Hinson
    Jacksonville Composite Squadron
    Florida Wing

    Cadet Lt. Col. Jonathan T. Lomberg
    Kona Composite Squadron
    Hawaii Wing
    Cadet Capt. Rachel L. Murphy
    Douglas Cadet Squadron
    Colorado Wing
    Cadet Lt. Col. Brian S. Neiheisel
    Fox Cities Composite Squadron
    Wisconsin Wing
    Cadet Col. Evan B. Salisbury

    Tigershark Composite Squadron
    Texas Wing

    Cadet Lt. Col. Christopher H. Slininger
    35th Composite Squadron
    Maine Wing

    AFNORTH Commander’s Award
    1st Lt. George D. Wilkinson
    Safety Officer
    1st Lt. Michael J. Wissing
    Assistant deputy commander for cadets
    High Desert Composite Squadron
    Oregon Wing

    F. Ward Reilly Leadership Award
    Maj. Michael A. Crockett
    Former Commander
    Bethesda-Chevy Chase Composite Squadron
    Maryland Wing

    Frank G. Brewer Memorial Aerospace Awards
    Cadet Lt. Col. Michael R. Poussard
    Fairfax Composite Squadron
    Natonal Capital Wing

    Senior Member

    Maj. John Bezayiff Jr.
    Columbia Composite Squadron
    Oregon Wing

    Dennis W. Bampton
    St. Charles Flying Service
    St. Charles, Mo.

    Lifetime Achievement
    Lt. Col. Clarence O. Hauck
    Assistant Aerospace Education Officer
    Col. Berta A. Edge Composite Squadron
    Mississippi Wing

    Maj. Gen. Jeanne M. Holm Aerospace Education Officer of the Year

    Capt. William M. Blatchley
    Colorado Springs Cadet Squadron
    Colorado Wing

    Aerospace Education Teacher of the Year

    Cindy Byers
    Rosholt School District, Wis.

    John V. “Jack” Sorenson Cadet Programs Officer of the Year
    Lt. Col. Janon D. Ellis
    National Capital Wing

    Senior Chaplain of the Year
    Chaplain Lt. Col. Adma A. Ross
    Connecticut Wing

    Squadron Chaplain of the Year
    Chaplain Maj. Elise L. Whitworth
    Peachtree DeKalb Senior Squadron
    Georgia Wing

    Character Development Instructor of the Year
    Maj. Myron J. Goins
    Nighthawk Composite Squadron
    Texas Wing

    Communications Officer of the Year
    Lt. Col. Mercer B. Richardson
    North Central Region

    Norm Edwards Counterdrug Officer of the Year
    Col. Ernestus S. Schnabler
    Washington Wing

    Col. Edwin W. Lewis Jr. Incident Staff Member of the Year
    Col. Timothy F. Hahn
    Nevada Wing

    Col. Dion E. DeCamp Ground Team of the Year
    Timmerman Composite Squadron
    Wisconsin Wing

    Outstanding Drug Demand Reduction Wing
    Wyoming Wing

    Drug Demand Reduction Member of the Yea
    Lt. Col. Donna E. Bracken
    New Mexico Wing

    Col. Lester Hopper Historian of the Yea
    2nd Lt. Frank A. Blazich
    Ohio Wing

    George Texido Legislative Officer of the Year

    Lt. Col. B. Keith West
    Virginia Wing

    Property Management Officer of the Year
    Maj. Harvey H. Hawken
    Washington Wing

    Col. Robert V. “Bud” Payton Public Affairs Officer of the Year
    Capt. Cindy E. Beck
    Arizona Wing

    Safety Officer of the Year
    Lt. Col. Alex C. Kay
    Pacific Region

    Paul W. Turner Safety Award

    Indiana Wing

    Director of Finance of the Year
    Maj. Catherine E. Spaulding
    Maine Wing

    Inspector General of the Year
    Col. Virginia A. Thompson
    Oregon Wing

    Squadron of Distinction

    Bethesda-Chevy Chase Composite Squadron
    Maryland Wing

    Other nominees for Squadron of Distinction

    Cache Valley Composite Squadron

    Utah Wing

    Cecil Field Cadet Squadron
    Florida Wing

    Deer Valley Composite Squadron 302

    Arizona Wing

    Fort Benjamin Harrison Composite Squadron

    Indiana Wing

    Kona Composite Squadron
    Hawaii Wing

    Platte Valley Composite Squadron
    Missouri Wing

    Stratford Eagles Composite Squadron

    Connecticut Wing

    Air Force Sergeants Association Cadet Noncommissioned Officer of the Year

    Cadet Chief Master Sgt. Stephon J. Tonko
    Fairfax Composite Squadron
    National Capital Wing

    Distinguished Aviator Award
    Lt. Col. William N. Hughes Jr.
    New York Wing

    1st Lt. Monte J. David
    Diamondhead Squadron
    Mississippi Wing

    2nd Lt. Sarah C. Rovner
    Thunderbird Composite Squadron
    Texas Wing

    CAP National Headquarters
    105 South Hansell Street
    Bldg. 714
    Maxwell AFB, AL 36112-5937
    Interested in Membership?
    Contact Your Local Unit
    Powered by SiteViz Enterprise Edition
    Copyright © 2017 Civil Air Patrol National Headquarters. All Rights Reserved.